COMM 200 – Fall 2011

Course site for Loyola's COMM 200 class, Fall 2011

I love you, you’re perfect, now change!

I can’t remember how I got involved with the latest technology? I never wanted to. It wasn’t planned or anything, it just happened. I mean, I didn’t think it was “cool” to have the latest version of the iPhone or the kid with the most friends on myspace/facebook.

How can you possibly know all of these people?

It’s kind of comical because I thought I knew EVERYTHING about technology just because I was an expert with my phone device and I knew how to manage my own facebook page.

I’ve come to the realization after being introduced to different forms of media through the first few weeks of class and completing reading assignments; that I know NOTHING about technology. I feel like people (including myself) think if they can manage a webpage or know how to upload a photo to facebook they are technology experts. I’ve learned that’s completely FALSE!!

According to the New York Observer, Facebook’s mission statement is to “give people the power to share and make the world more open and connected.” This statement was relative back in 2009 and has probably made a lot of changes since then; however, regardless of what their statement is, their target audience is everybody!

When facebook first launched in 2004, it was strictly for Harvard college students and a few Ivy League schools. Mark Zuckerberg, facebooks creator, wanted to expand his network and make it “more open and connected” for everybody as its mission statement in 2009 entailed.

Do YOU have a facebook?

Now we have people of all ages, all genders, all ethnicities, and also have businesses that use facebook as their primary tool to reach out to potential clients. Some small boutiques create a facebook page and use it as their webpage instead of creating their unique domain.

This in particular reminded me of the Internet commercial we watched in class. It was being advertised with a utopian vision; there was no discrimination and everything was perfect!

Facebook now has over 500,000,000 users according to digitalbuzzblog.com and it’s still growing. The fact that my parents have a facebook account makes it a little more frightening; however easier to connect and stay connected with them on a regular basis.

TRUE!

FUNNY VIDEO ABOUT PARENTS AND FACEBOOK…ENJOY! 

Facebook has everything you could ever want and/or need from a social networking site to model the “utopian vision.”Think about it: You can blog by utilizing the notes section of facebook; you can upload photos and videos and organize them into albums; you can chat with other friends; you can message privately; and now there’s even an option to live video chat through your facebook account. How cool is that!?

All of these advantages make it easy to keep in touch with people who you don’t see on a regular basis and keep up with the people you want. Although the “power to choose” what content your facebook profile has may be what a utopian believer values, it may also come with numerous complications.

For example, facebook just recently changed its layout (and tends to do so every so often). Personally, I think it’s great. I like change and I love that they’re always looking to make it more customized; however, I also have a dystopian view about it, which is less privacy and more problems trying to adjust to the changes.

Like or Dislike?

Problems with facebook don’t stop there. Ever since I signed up for an account back in 2006 I was a high school student and had no idea what facebook was and actually found it quite boring!! Fast forward five years and I’m now a facebook addict. That’s probably the site that is most visited if I were to take a look at my internet history. It’s not a good thing because often times I will be on facebook looking at people’s profiles as oppose to doing homework. If something goes wrong with facebook, I freak out!! If I’m on my phone and I can’t see a picture because of a connection error I don’t know what to do!? I’ve been so used to having everything at my fingertips and keeping up with peoples lives on a daily basis that when facebook has problems I don’t know how to fix it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s the problem! Facebook gives you the power to control and manage your own page, but in reality, they have all the power and control. They’re the ones who keep track of your Internet searches and as a result have advertising that’s tailored to fit your wants, not needs.

Just some of the MANY facebook advertisements!

They’re the ones who suggest a friend based off of similar profile information even though you have no idea who that person is? And a recently added feature is the “face recognition feature” which is supposed to make tagging friends in photos a lot easier—and it does! However, sometimes facebook gets it wrong and often tags a few people who are not in the picture, which can be quite offensive to facebook users.

Face recognition feature on facebook!

Facebook stays true to its mission statement by connecting people and allowing them to share information; however, it’s important to note that it may come with frustrating matters, which can potentially lead to unpleasant consequences.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

